Let’s get this started!

Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try. – Gail Devers

I am hoping that this blog allows me to turn my dream into a reality. I have set my sites on running across the United States in the spring of 2014. In order to make this happen I need to gather moral and logistical support and funding for a crew and vehicle.

I aspire to break the women’s trans-American run record. (The current record still stands from 1978 at 69 days, 2 hours and 40 minutes by Mavis Hutchinson) I will be running from San Francisco City Hall to NY City Hall averaging between 50 and 60 miles a day.

The first step toward my goal is starting this blog to gather volunteers who can help me organize this event. Please join this adventure and assist with any of the following tasks:

  • Mapping
  • Website design
  • Fundraising  (the event will also raise funds for charitable organizations)
  • Publicity
  • Locating sponsors
  • Donating an RV/Camper
  • Joining me on the trip to assist with-driving, food, laundry, photography, videography, massage therapy, etc.

Who wants to be a part of this? We have over a year to put this together. Let’s make history!! Please give me feedback and sign up to follow this blog!

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let’s get this started!

  1. Steve Whitman says:

    This is awesome. Good for you! I would like to follow your progress as you prepare. If I can find a way to assist you before or during the run I will do so!
    Happy New Year!
    Steve

  2. wken says:

    Reblogged this on The Three W's and commented:
    A friend of mine from high school is pursuing a dream of hers, and I think it would be great if people checked this out.

  3. wken says:

    Wow! That’s an ambitious goal.

    Is there any way that Kickstarter might be useful for something like this? (Just tossing out an idea … I don’t know if it’s really the right sort of way to go.)

    Anyway … I’ll talk to some people I know who might be interested in sponsorships, It seems like it would be a lot of fun to be part of that. I’m not sure how practical any of my involvement might be. Still, I’ll see what I can do.

  4. Someone else mentioned kickstarter but I don’t know much about it. I am wondering if i can add a plug in on this site for donations..this is why I need help from computer savey people! Thanks..I will appreciate any connections that you can assist me with.

  5. autofixation says:

    Yeah, you know I’m in! In this until you have a record. Going to put the driving skills to work. Now to start researching…

  6. Sonny V. B. says:

    Run Jess Run!

  7. Lisa says:

    Good luck! You can do it!!

Leave a Reply

