Primal Time

Although my schedule only permitted me to run 6 out of 7 days this week I still hit 102 miles. The melting snow and ice are giving me enough traction to get faster. I remember Scott Rowe telling me that 100 mile weeks are different. It is true.I can’t explain why but there is a distinct change in my spirit and body when I run 100 miles or more within a week. It’s as if the past and future no longer exist and all that matters is the ground beneath my feet and the air that I am breathing. All of the trivial things in life just fall away. It feels primal. I become aware of my bones, muscles and internal organs working together like the most brilliant machine on Earth. My only purpose is to move forward.

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Primal Time

  1. Cory says:

    Good post! Though I really can’t imagine running more than 5 miles at a time, I think I know what you mean. When I consistently get to go to my Jiu Jitsu classes, there is a real change. Even if we are just doing 3 or 5 minute rounds, during those minutes I am 100% focused on what’s going on. Martial arts is one of the few things that can get that single-minded focus from me. I guess that’s why some folks call aspects of sport ‘active meditation’.

    • True that my friend, most people think that you need to sit on a pile of pillows or do yoga with smudge sticks to meditate but I think that the focus and visualization involved in many physical activities have the same purpose..just a different path.

Leave a Reply

