Please read and respond!

walkingtrailer-wheelie
I had to put some more time and emphasis on school this week so I only got one day of doubles in. 95.8 miles for my total.
Learning how to become a Massage Therapist is not as easy as you might think. In addition to the anatomy & physiology, you need to use proper body mechanics and be graceful. Yah, graceful, those of you who know me well probably just laughed yourselves out of your chairs.
So my entire plan might be changing and I REALLY want feedback from you guys. I am very discouraged about the fundraising aspects of doing a fully supported cross country run. I am starting to consider plan B. (Actually this was my original plan) I am realizing that as tough as it would be to do a self supported run, (going alone and carrying all of my crap in some type of cart) it somehow seems easier that trying to singlehandedly fundraise money for an RV and crew. Only one woman has ever made the journey self supported (Zoe Romano)
Breaking the world record might be impossible this way…no sure? A friend sent me this link on long distance hiker trolleys: http://littlegreentracs.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/05/long-distance-hikers-trolleys.html and now my cranial juices are flowing.
I also just learned that Connie Gardner (USATF National Champion and Ultra runner of the Year) will be attempting to break the same transcontinental record this year…Soooo, if she raises the bar I would need to run more than 70 miles a day? Scrapping the record and pulling a trolley just keeps sounding better and better. I would love to hear feedback from my blog followers…

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Please read and respond!

  1. Cory says:

    Hey Jess,

    Have you considered kickstarter, IndieGoGo, or some other crowd-funding resource? Pulling a cart that distance sounds hard to me… You might need to change your body mechanics significantly to do that in an ergonomic manner. But, then again, I can’t make it more than 5 miles running (unless something is chasing me). Actually, not sure about that parenthesized part either, thankfully its theoretical.
    Cheers,

    Cory

  2. Katie soltis says:

    Hi Jess! I think if you try it on your own first you will be able to know completely if you want to try a record breaking funded event. Plus you will know the bumps along the road so to speak and tweak your plan accordingly. What’s an extra year before going for the guineas anyhow ? I really like the idea of the cart but I do think you should find someone to follow with you so you are safe! Good luck on your decisions! X

  3. Lisa Langevin says:

    Hey Jess,
    I agree with Cory. Exhaust fundraising options- and I wish I had some more info for you in that department. I’m sure you’ve investigated this and I’ll also do some research. I feel like getting all the support you can for this journey is really important for self care and any unexpected events. I really want to support you and am serious about offering my services. XO

  4. Faye Lowrey says:

    Some people who live within walking distance of a grocery store use a 2-wheel cart to haul their groceries.  It is a metal basket on 2 wheels.  I think you should experiment with something like this to see how it feels.  You would have to attach a harness to it, or whatever, in order to pull it behind you.  If you are successful with the experiment, then you will know it will work before making an investment.   I can’t imagine running 50 to 70 miles a day, or whatever, every day so it’s difficult to put myself in your shoes to give my thoughts.  Anyway, I wish you the best.   Faye   

    ________________________________

  5. sara says:

    Hi Jess,
    I could not imagine pulling a cart for that many miles. I would look into the fundraising options. Also, based on what your past adventures have been it seem that you know a lot of people and might be able to plan a route with some volunteers (friends of friends of friends) along the way. I know it is hard to get people to commit to something so far in advance but maybe once it gets closer this could be another option for you. Sounds like you have a lot going on right now with school and training. Whatever you decide to do this will be a major accomplishment that few will ever be able to say that they did! good luck! hope to catch you on the rail trail this summer:)
    Sara

  6. Owain says:

    I don’t know who this “Connie Gardner” character thinks she is (if that even is her real name), but I agree with the majority here. Keep looking for funding (Cory’s Kickstarter suggestion is a great idea BTW) and go for the record! Can you leave before her and beat her to the punch? Pulling a freakin’ travois for 4000 miles sounds like a drag to me. Ha! See what I did there?

  7. Thanks for the comments!I have exhausted myself looking into all of the potential fundraising options..it boils down to the fact that I need at least about $30,000. Because I am not famous or wealthy that is a long shot. Kickstarter is an all or nothing deal, if you don’t reach the goal, you don’t get any of the funds raised. And because it isn’t a noprofit, large donors wouldn’t be inclined to get involved without a tax break. I also do not have a crew. So even if I got the cash for an RV, I don’t have anyone who can solidly committ to going with me. I have researched how other people did similar projects and they usually had to spend their personal money. Most Sponsorships don’t come through until the very end. So, if anyone wants to take responsibility for organizing the fundraiser..I’m in! Or if anyone wants to come with me give me a holler! I am not at all worried about going alone with a trolley/stroller. I cycled coast to coast already so it will be old hat. Just me an a couple of wheels.

  8. François says:

    New trekking trolley with a wheel.

    Dear Sir, Madam,

    Our invention has been adopted with a great deal of enthusiasm by backpackers all over the world.

    Some Carrix users, with a load of 20kg or more, have gone over distances exceding 7500 kms without suffering from the usual problems associated with backpacks.

    Carrix, is routinely used ” En route to St Jacques de Compostelle” and on mountain trecks in Europe, Asia and America.

    Carrix was a Finalist exhibitor at ISPO 2004 in Germany.

    Go to http://www.carrix.ch and let us introduce you to the versatile Carrix system.

    Carrix can be fitted with – a ski blade for snow.
    – two large wheels for desert sands.
    – two small wheels for use by runners
    and roller skaters.
    .

    Francois

    http://picasaweb.google.com/112852352135595860303/LeChariotDeRandonneeOuBrouetteCarrixSurLesCheminsDeSaintJacquesDeCompostelle

Leave a Reply

