More than Money

broken-heart-red-cartoon

My purse was stolen today. I am trying to keep my chin up but having a tough time of it. Let me start by saying that I am so lucky to have my health and the best family and friends a person could ask for. So I feel guilty even having this pity party. It is just that I am trying so hard to get my new business up and running. I am barely scraping by. Having all of my freshly earned money taken from me hurt pretty badly. Everything I made this week was in there. Not to mention a large majority of my new business cards. I feel like my spirit has been broken. I am not even bothering to go running this evening. I haven’t eaten all day because I was too busy watching security camera footage and filing police reports and blocking my debit cards. Need to go to the DMV to get a new license now too. Sorry this blog post is so gloomy and not at all about running. Just can’t get in the mood.

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to More than Money

  1. Ford says:

    Your messages are normally very positive and focused. In spite of having all of our money stolen you still started off by expressing thankfulness. I hope they cach the creep who reduced himself/herself to the level of steeling from an young person who is struggling to do all of the right things. Sorry for troubles and hope tomorrow is a brighter day. God bless.

  2. Wendy Mersch says:

    Jess, I am so sorry! The money represents your hard work and not just that day’s hard work. You worked hard over the last 14 months giving up a job, fun times and a portion of your life to learn a new career. So yes, it is more than just money, your pay for your hard work was stolen from you. You were violated. Even though everything can be replaced, it still means that someone with less values and morals than you stooped to taking something that didn’t belong to them. You are a go getter, a hard worker and would never do something like that so it is difficult to comprehend how someone can do that.
    Give yourself this time to get everything back together and process it all. Tomorrow is another day and you will begin as you usually do and run again. Don’t let them pull you down, stay focused on why you are doing this and continue on.
    I hope they find whomever did this and you have the piece of mind knowing they were caught.
    Sending you a big hug!

  3. Hi Jess! So sorry, but remember this saying that I saw on a sign in Northwood about 15 years ago and I never forgot it – ” Friends multiply JOY and divide GRIEF!” – Don Yeaotn

  4. I’m so sorry Jess. A few years ago my purse was stolen from my car on my birthday. I was going through a terrible time financially and I’ll never forget the feeling of knowing that gift cards I had been saving up to go out for my birthday were stolen. It was beyond just feeling violated, I felt a certain devastation that it took a long time to get over. I felt like the universe was sending some message that I didn’t deserve to have a moment of financial peace. It took me a long time to get over that feeling. All that to say that I know what you’re feeling and the best thing you can do is just to remind yourself that the money will come back to you; just try not to let it take too much away from your spirit. Give yourself time to grieve and then get back up there and keep going strong. You’re doing so many amazing things and you’re an inspiration. Don’t let anyone take that from you.

  5. Shelly says:

    So sorry to hear this awful news. Just remember that it isn’t the number of times you’re down that matters, but the number of times that you get back up. You will get through this, too!

Leave a Reply

