I’m The Crazy One?

tv
Knowing that I need to ramp up my mileage, I decided to take a 6 day break from running. Both as a means to make a negotiation with my body and to give me some down time to tie up loose ends. Normally I spend at least 2 or 3 hours a day running. And because of that, people say I am crazy. So, what is it that most people are doing during their free time? According to studies, the average American spends almost 5 hours a day watching T.V. (The average, not the extreme) I have not had cable T.V. since the early 90’s. But this past week while I took my rest, I was house-sitting for a friend who had T.V.
CLICK went the remote. I wanted to see what I am missing. What I found was a barrage of commercials telling me that I was not acceptable or happy. My hair is too flat, I have bags under my eyes, I am too fat and smell bad. I should ask my Dr. for pharmaceuticals to make me sleep longer, and get some pills to make me less moody. And why not get spinal surgery for pain relief? And plastic surgery could make me feel more confident. Money shouldn’t be a problem because I can get a loan, consolidate my loans, and start a new career. And who could turn me down after I buy new slimming clothes and fine jewelry and a new car that would define my character. Is all of this making you tired? Take a break and eat fast food, fried food, and processed food. I mean, who WOULDN’T be happy with toaster strudels flying around the kitchen while they were doing the Hammer dance and chowing down waffles. Don’t worry about it! You can sign up for a monthly weight loss program that doesn’t require dieting or exercise. ENOUGH ENOUGH ENOUGH!!
Today I started running again. I reclaimed authority over the messages that will be sent to me. I am ALREADY good enough. I have EVERYTHING that I need to be happy and present in this moment. For absolutely no charge, I can set out every day and be myself and give it my best. The trails and roads are always there waiting for me. All I need to do is show up.

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m The Crazy One?

  1. charles says:

    You said it, sistah! Keep being you, you do it better than anyone else.

  2. Grace says:

    Jessica, you are a beautiful person. I am so glad that you share your life with us.
    Grace
    By the way, I haven’t had television for a few years now. I do not miss it.

  3. Thanks for following Grace! 🙂

  4. Wendy Mersch says:

    I love that, you should write a book and tell everyone who has tv what they are missing!! I am one of those tv people and I do love my shows, however I also love the peace of my own mind when it is OFF! There is a happy medium out there. The messages are very powerful, something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. I love your outlook and that is why you are perfect just the way you are and why you are going to break this record going cross country. You have everything that you need within you! love you and miss you! Happy running!

  5. Karen Williams says:

    Good for you, Jess! Hope you’re back on track. Love you, aunty Karen

  6. mike andrews says:

    Was that an editorial ?

    _____

  7. Glenn says:

    I have tried mashing the like button on this post one thousand times but alas it only allows me to like the post once…

Leave a Reply

