Send Your Complaints to my Supervisor

Compulsive-exercise

Making some radical decisions this morning. I have been so overwhelmed with my training and trying to fit holiday stuff in and around my runs and work and other life responsibilities. I have been out in sleet and freezing rain, trying to get in 20 and 30 mile days. I feel an increasing amount of pressure to log in long runs and high miles. What has happened here? My running used to be deviant and the thing that I wanted to do. Now it feels like I am trying to meet the expectations of other people to prove something. So I am deciding to do something a little bit crazy this week. I am going to prioritize my family and friends over my running. I am going to hang out with my parents and watch movies and cook good food and slump around on the couch. I am going to let go of the pressure and just be a normal girl for a few days. At this stage in the game I feel like being with my loved ones might recharge me and give me more strength than a run would anyway. And these are the people who come to my planning meetings and help me with my mapping and research to pull this whole trip off in the first place. So if anyone is dissappointed in my decision,  you can take it up with my supervisor.(who by the way is me and I will be out of the office) Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Send Your Complaints to my Supervisor

  1. trikatykid says:

    Wise decisions! And you know, there’s a happy medium between slumping on the couch and running 30 miles a day. Enjoy your family and Merry Christmas!

  2. And you’ve made your Mom so happy! Thank you and Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

