Rigged up and ready to roll

IMG_20140128_133718_195

IMG_20140128_133607_163

IMG_20140128_133111_974

IMG_20140128_133023_259

Woohoo! My very smart and cool friend Josh Roberts finished the makeover on the stroller. The compartment to carry my gear is supported by light weight aluminum and built from rugged material similar to what they make dry bags from. I have 2 waterproof duffle bags that stack inside of the compartment. One for clothing & first Aid and another for camping gear. There is plenty of room left over for food and water. But it is possible to cinch it tight when it is not completely full. Soon there will be a solar panel that lays on the top so that I am able to charge my phone and devices when I can’t access electricity. We may also add some more pockets on the outside. The bar in the back is a special design to prevent my arm from having to be fixed on the handle bar all of the time. When I run I can swing my arms freely and hold the wooden dowel and every time my hand goes forward it gives it a slight push to keep it in motion.
The brain Injury Association of America is sending me 1000 business cards with my fundraising website to help me spread the word! By the end of the week my tracking device, GPS equipment and navigation software should all be here so I can start plugging in the route. My route in CA may need to be changed and I am waiting on the details. I did get 2 30 mile days of tempo runs in this week. I lost training time trying to sort out logistics and attend meetings and was pretty busy with work. Hopefully this week will be better! Upon request I will start adding in wish list items. If anyone has these items to donate please send me a message. Thanks everyone 🙂
1. Reflective tape
2. MP3 player and earbuds
3. Swiss Army knife
4. Camelback with insulated hose (my current one freezes)

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rigged up and ready to roll

  1. trikatykid says:

    That’s awesome! I hope you are feeling better about it now. I started a GoFundMe page last week for my sick puppy. It was SO easy and it made for a much easier way for people – strangers and friends – to donate money. You can set it up to automatically deposit into your account every day, every week, or whenever. Just thought I’d pass it along to you!

  2. Thank you! Yes I have decided that i will be making an account soon. Thank you so much for all of your input and advice. I hope your puppy is ok.

  3. Wow, it is all starting to get real! Wish list is great and I do think it’s time for the fund page. I am overwhelmingly proud of you Jess. I am truly honored to be your Mom. Love.

  4. Lisa says:

    How are the wheels on the stroller? Should you have a small tire repair kit or such, can they get a flat or are they all plastic?
    Sound like everything is coming together! Can’t wait to hear more updates!

  5. Glenn says:

    Hey homie. I have an ipod for you. The earbuds, well, you may want to keep looking.

Leave a Reply

