The Vultures are circling

IMG_20140204_134108_233
I have been sick and running rather slowly so I was a little nervous when this giant vulture swooped down in front of me today. Luckily he found something more appetizing. I got knocked down pretty hard this week with some type of virus or infection. I didn’t run at all on the days I had a fever (high enough to warrant some fun hallucinations) and then I limited myself to 10 miles a day until I felt stronger. My legs were ready to tear up the road but my respiratory and immune system had another opinion. Today I got 30 miles in. Nice and slow on a hilly course with about 1,400 feet of elevation climb.. It was in the teens when I started out but eventually it warmed up to 28 degrees. Unfortunately it looks like I will end up back on the treadmill tomorrow as we are expecting to get buried in snow again.

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Vultures are circling

  1. Karen Williams says:

    Jess, I really hope you will take it easy. I don’t think you’re letting your body heal before you take off running and then you’re down again.

    Sent from my iPad Karen Williams

    >

  2. I totally agree, I think I was fighting it off for a while and then it just beat me down because I was trying to push through it.. That is why I took some days off and then took it easy for a while. I felt like today went well and I will see how I feel tomorrow morning. (already annoyed about the snow) 🙂

  3. Michael says:

    Well, first off, let me just say I am no way even near the ability of distance and timing you achieve, so…I don’t know much. BUT….I do know, when I was sick recently, I would get all freaked out about my mileage, and thinking if I stopped now, everything I gained with timing and conditioning would be in the toilet etc etc., and I would then force myself to run. Good news bad news – while I seemed to think it a crowning achievement that I got my ‘daily run’ in – my body finally just reached out with an open hand and *smack!* across my face…and made me stop.. But you know your body better than anyone – and I’ll just hope from here that it heals and gets well soon!

  4. Glenn says:

    And the snow is here. I hope that it clears up enough for you soon Jess and thank you again for the heads up about the workshop, for lack of a better word. That promises to be a pretty cool time.

  5. Patti Meier says:

    Sorry you have been ill my dear friend. But….I have to say, you ALWAYS have some great adventures to tell us all! A vulture…on the week you feel ill! LMAO! You go girl!

  6. Everything in nature is about balance. You are finding it in your own way.

Leave a Reply

