Froze My Noze

IMG_20140304_083615_385

I actually got a little bit of cold exposure this week. Sores inside of my nostrils. Nice huh? My nose is really about the only thing sticking out so I guess it makes sense. I still totaled 153 miles for the week, mostly in single digit or below zero temps.

The countdown had definitely started. I am pretty much busy between 6 am and 10 pm trying to work, train and organize all of the last minute details. Still getting all of the GPS equipment and solar charger set up. I have most of my gear together and I am making up a first aid kit. If you haven’t found my Facebook page yet you should check it out. Jessica Goldman Forward Motion. (It should be on the right hand side of this screen) Thank you so much to everyone who has been supporting me and making donations to this project. It is all coming together!

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Froze My Noze

  1. trikatykid says:

    If you could use a Buff, please let me know. I can send you a couple. If you don’t know what they are, check out our website. It might help with your nose and it will help with sun protection too down the road.. Visit http://www.stillwaterflyshop.com. Shop “Buff” and pick one out and I will buy it for you and send it to you. They are multipurpose and won’t weigh you down!

    • Oh my god! That is awesome. I had never even heard of those before. I would LOVE to try one. I have been worrying about sun exposure on my face. I know from experience that sunscreen just sweats right off even when they say it is water proof. I’d probably need the slim fit as I have a very small head. 🙂 I would be very excited if you are able to send me one! my mailing address is Jessica Goldman, 2 Washington St., STE 309, Dover NH, 03820 Thank you!!

      • trikatykid says:

        I’m on it 🙂

      • Hey there! Any word on that buff? I haven’t seen it in the mail yet. Do you know if it was sent out yet? Now that I know they exist I NEED one. I must be fashionable in the desert 😉

      • trikatykid says:

        So I just checked out our Buff inventory and talked with a couple people. I want to give you something that will be very useful for you on this trip. The Slim Buff is not a UV protection Buff, so I have decided not to send that. There is a UVX Mask buff that I think would work well for this run. http://www.stillwaterflyshop.com/uvx-mask-buff

        I was thinking of sending you the Cru color (off-white). It is super lightweight and washable, and if you get tired of it on your face you can pull it down easily. It will hook up over the back of your head (not all the way up, but enough so it won’t slide and it will protect your neck and ears from the sun as well. It has little holes that you can breathe through so if you have to cover your nose and mouth you can. It has the highest amount of UV protection of all the buff products. It was designed for fly fishing, paddle boarding, and other sun/water sports where UV protection is necessary. Let me know what you think. I will also be sending some of my personal Buffs that you can decide if you want to use or not.. they are handy to have (they are the things the contestants in Survivor wear – sometimes as tube tops, sometimes as durags, other times as mini skirts.. LOL. This one (the UVX mask) is intended to be worn on the head and its shaped to fit the head neck and shoulders.

        Let me know what you think!

  2. Perfect..yes the UV protection is key..where have these things been all my life!? So cool! Thank you so much 🙂

  3. trikatykid says:

    Sent it out in the mail today! So sorry for the delay. I actually never saw your previous comments that you approved of the UVX balaclava buff! I hope I picked out the right one! You might want to adjust it so it fits you better.. but I think this one will give you the most sun protection! Can’t wait to read about your journey!!! 🙂

  4. trikatykid says:

    ..it’s coming from Stillwater Fly Shop, not from me, but it IS from me! 🙂

    • Yay!! You are so awesome. Thank you BIG time. I wasn’t sure if you had sent it out so I ordered one too! Now I will have 2 of them (Probably a good idea anyway) I ordered a UVX Dorado. Thanks a million for sending me one and just for letting me know that they existed. I had never heard of them before 🙂

      • trikatykid says:

        Thank you for letting me know! I found your order and shipped them out together, so they will arrive in the same package. I shipped them out First Class – they should arrive with plenty of time! You picked out a good one. Love the colors. Hopefully you get a lot of use out of both! 🙂

  5. Oh my god! Sweeeet!! That is fantastic.Thank you so much! I hope I get to meet you someday 🙂

Leave a Reply

