I’ll Fight You Standing on One Foot

Big hill

long hillsteep hill

The title is a reference from Monty Python if you were wondering. I feel like my determination and persistence need to be at a level of ridiculosity in order to keep going sometimes. Last week I lifted a heavy bag at work and threw my back out. For 3 days I couldn’t roll over in bed or bend over to tie my shoe. This happening with just over 30 days before my take off to run across America. Ridiculous. So my road to recovery had to be rushed and radical. I went ot the chiropractor and had my SI joint adjusted. And then I ramped back up adding 10 more miles each day. SO I am pleased to say that today I am back to 30 mile days. And I didn’t run an ordinary course. I did 3 loops up and over Teneriffe Mountain. I took pictures although photos never quite give the full feel of steep roads.ย  It was a total of 6,876 feet of elevation change and 3,423 feet of climb. Not bad considering a 30 mile stretch from Steamboat Springs that goes over the continental divide isย  4,162 feet of climb. So this route is an excellent simulation of what my tough climbing days will be like. And I feel great. I wanted to add on some more miles today but in consideration of my recent back injury I will wait one more day. (Stupid winter storm weather permitting)

I have so many thank you’s to hand out this week that I am afraid I might forget someone! These are people who have donated and supported me outside of the GoFundMe page. The GoFundMe page is public and you can see all of my awesome supporters by looking at this page: http://www.gofundme.com/6vszzw?preview=1

In addition to that I want to thank the Pazdon family and Auntie Karen for their generous donations, Pattie Meier for mailing me a castaway Wilson ball, Scott Rowe for diligently converting my map into Garmin, Sarah Canney for giving me Nuun samples and featuring me in her blog:ย  http://runfargirl.com/2014/03/06/running-across-the-country-jessica-goldman-goes-for-it/

A little over a month before take off!! Thank you so much to everyone for following my story and keeping me on track. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ll Fight You Standing on One Foot

  1. scanney says:

    Next time you run Teneriffe let me know! I’ve done that run up and over and it is not easy. I’d do a lap or two with you:)

  2. HikesNH says:

    Isn’t that quote from the Cowardly Lion in the Wizard of Oz? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Teneriffe is a nice run — Can you continue on up to the top now or is there still too much snow?

Leave a Reply

