No super athlete here

IMG_20140325_142751_396

I ran 249.7 miles this week. To be honest I think it was more but I don’t have the interest to locate the missing miles on my spreadsheet right now. Thanks to everyone’s donations and sponsorships I was able to take a couple of full and partial days off to run some 40-50 mile days. I ran some with the stroller and am working on fine tuning devices and gear. I have seen quite a bit of wildlife this week with herds of deer lurking on the roadsides, vultures swooping down to check me out and this adorable opossum who came out to say hello. This next week will include some unintentional rest days as I will be attending class and seeing several clients.
I keep getting reactions from people who seem to think that I am amazing. I want to clarify that I am just an ordinary person. I am pretty much the same as you. I am not a super athlete and I do not spring up every morning ready for non stop training. I wake up feeling tired. The mornings come very fast. My first thought is always: It is too cold out to run.
After prying my eyelids open I realize that the sun has started to come up and I have overslept again. My warm blankets and soft pillow promise me that there is no better place to be than in bed. I almost fall back asleep but then I remember that there is food just one room away. I drag myself into the kitchen and slam a few slices in the toaster. The coffee pot starts to gurgle and the computer screen fires up. Hello world! I check the weather. Single digit temps again and bitter cold winds. I think of a dozen fine excuses to not go and run today. The house whispers warm sweet things to me, telling me to not go outside. I forcefully get up and start the process of getting dressed. 2 pairs of pants, 2 shirts, jacket, gloves, hat, neck warmer. My muscles are stiff from the day before and once I am dressed I feel like a mummy. I slowly very slowly start making my way to the door, dreading the icy burst of air that will hit my sleepy face. The smell of fresh coffee and the thought of wrapping up in the blanket sing out to me like deadly sea sirens. I claw my way out of the house. When I start running I am sore and have aches and pains. I start off slowly adjusting to the cold air which starts to clear out the grogginess. In a matter of minutes I start to feel like I am coming alive. I can hear the birds singing and see the glorious way that the sun is highlighting the frost covered trees. I am in motion. I am on a planet that is also in motion. And I join the movement with the rest of the universe. The more I run, the clearer my thoughts become. I become such a part of the scenery that the animals forget to run away when they see me. I am constantly moving yet every step I take brings me to someplace where I completely belong; but soon I must turn around and go home.
I allow myself one hour in between training runs. When I step back into the house it feels hypnotically warm. I wrestle all of my cold and partially frozen layers off. I grab some food out of the fridge and head into the living room. The couch winks at me and says, “Hey, why don’t you come and spend some time with me?” Powerless I sink into the cushions and slip under the warm blanket. I know that I only have one hour. I also know that I will have to fight for my life to get back out that door again into the cold. But I will. And it will be worth it. Every single time.

About Jessica Goldman

An underdog runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to No super athlete here

  1. autofixation says:

    Very inspiring. I only ran a handful of times this past winter. I really need to just bundle up and get outside. I’ll not call you a super athlete (if you don’t want to be called one) but you certainly have a super will. Keep it up!

  2. Donna Redfern says:

    I love this post! For some reason I feel like I’m right there beside you. You are an excellent writer. I am continually amazed by you!!

  3. Chuck E. Armand says:

    “Apple Dapple, why didn’t you say so?” For those of you who worry that Jessica isn’t eating enough, relax, she has it covered. Last night I arrived home to find that Jessica had been visiting and running and eating for a good chunk of the day. There was a vegan NE Boiled Dinner on the stove, an empty refrigerator and empty shelves in the pantry. Each time we had the shopping list ready and headed out the door another empty carton of something would be tossed into the fireplace, and the list would be called back for an addition. She was eating faster than her mother could write! Happy to report the shelves were restocked before bed time, and the house is ready for the next visit. Question: is there enough food in America for this woman to make it across?

  4. Laurel says:

    What a way with words, ordinary or extraordinary, you are inspiring!

  5. Lorrie says:

    Great post! Best wishes on your upcoming adventure!

  6. Chris says:

    Very nice write-up. I’ve been curious about how your body feels with all of the mileage you’re putting in. I know that any time I run 20 or 30 miles, I’m always a bit sore the next day.

  7. Wow, what insight to be in you and see how it really is. This is the kind of writing you do that reminds me that you are a leader, a teacher, a mentor as well as an athlete. Thank you. You are still the best Christmas present I ever got.

  8. Love you too Mummers!

  9. Katie Soltis says:

    Wow. Beautifully written and exactly what I needed to see to understand how you do accomplish what you do. You may be “ordinary” as we all are but you are most certainly amazing for your incredible hard work and dedication and consistency. You are stellar! – Katie

    Sent from my iPhone

  10. Thanks Katie, now I want to know the secrets behind your karaoke stage presence. Much more exhausting than what I do ❤

  11. Karen Williams says:

    I’m freezing just thinking about you.

    Sent from my iPad Karen Williams

    >

  12. Amazing, inspirational stuff. You may not think you’re a super athlete but I think most people, including elite runners, would agree that what you are doing is epic and super human. Your weekly mileage is about 10 times my weekly mileage and I’ve got a marathon next week! Maybe we can agree that you’re just an average person doing super athletic things. In the snow. With a buggy and wildlife to contend with….

  13. You know, most superheroes deny their superheros 😉 I’m just waiting for someone to catch you running out of a phone booth wearing a cape. But in all seriousness, you are amazing.

  14. There aren’t any phone booths any more. Superheroes have a tough situation. Have you ever tried to change in a cell phone case? Impossible.

Leave a Reply

